Step back in time to a bygone era
The Banning House, perched on a hill, overlooks both Isthmus Harbor and Catalina Harbor in Two Harbors, Catalina Island’s West End. The Lodge, built in the Craftsman style in 1910 by the Banning brothers, served as their Island summer home. The Banning Brothers, sons of General Phineas Banning, purchased Catalina Island in 1892. Brothers William, Joseph and Hancock provided steamship transportation from the mainland to the Island, and in 1894 they created the Santa Catalina Island Company, developing activities and attractions, increasing promotion of their new resort destination.
To get to their summer lodge in Two Harbors from Avalon, the brothers had to travel by stagecoach. The rugged journey took two days each way. The Banning Brothers sold Catalina Island, making way for chewing gum magnate William Wrigley Jr. to purchase the Santa Catalina Island Company (including the Island) in 1919. Since 1910 the Lodge has served as the U.S. Coast Guard officer's quarters during WWII, as a private girls camp in the late 1950's, a hunting lodge, and as employee housing. Today, the Banning House is a twelve room bed and breakfast with a historic and warm feel and beautiful panoramic views of Two Harbors.