Catalina Island Points of Interest
Catalina Island is steeped in history. There are several historic sites and points of interest on the island that speak to the rich and storied history of the island.
Catalina Island Casino
The Catalina Island Casino has been the focal point of Santa Catalina Island entertainment and culture since it opened in 1929. Dominating the Avalon landscape from its regal perch along the bay, the casino exemplifies the style and romance of Catalina Island.
El Rancho Escondido
Nestled in a small valley on Catalina Island nearly 12 miles outside of Avalon is El Rancho Escondido, “the hidden ranch.” Still a working ranch, it was originally started as the Wrigley family's Arabian Horse Ranch.
Catalina Island Country Club
The Catalina Island Country Club is open for weddings and private events, but this wasn't always so. The facility was originally built as the clubhouse for William Wrigley’s baseball team, the Chicago Cubs. Now, after a lavish renovation, the club’s eclectic mix of Spanish Colonial design and sports memorabilia exists in elegant ambiance and is the perfect venue for any special occasion.
Catalina Island Museum
For more than 60 years, the Catalina Island Museum has collected, preserved and presented the rich cultural heritage of Santa Catalina Island for visitors from all over the world to enjoy. Situated on the ground floor of Avalon's historic Casino Building, the Catalina Island Museum invites you to discover more than 7,000 years of history through dozens of engaging and visually exciting exhibits.
Wrigley Memorial & Botanical Gardens
With its commanding view of Avalon Bay, The Wrigley Memorial is the centerpiece of the Botanical Gardens. The Wrigley Memorial was built in 1933-34,with the goal of using as much Catalina Island materials as possible. The idea for a garden came from Mr. Wrigley's wife, Ada.
Civil War Barracks
In 1864, the U.S. Army sent 83 soldiers to survey Santa Catalina Island as a proposed reservation for “militant” Native Americans. The plan was never completed, but the barracks remain as a monument to the Civil War, World War II, and even a little Hollywood magic.
Nestled on a hill overlooking the Isthmus Harbor and Catalina Harbor in Two Harbors, the Banning House was built in 1910 as the summer home of the Banning brothers, former owners of Catalina Island. The lodge served as the U.S. Coast Guard officers’ quarters during WWII, as a private girls’ camp in the in 1950s, as a hunting lodge, and as Two Harbors employee housing.